Sanzar

2012 Super Rugby referee appointments confirmed for final three rounds of season

June 26, 2012

2012 Super Rugby referee appointments confirmed for final three rounds of season

By SANZAR Communications

SANZAR has announced the referee appointments for the final three rounds of the 2012 Super Rugby regular season.

While Super Rugby took a break for the June International tours, the referees continued to keep busy, with some of the Southern Hemisphere’s leading officials overseeing test matches, while others officiated during the recently completed International Rugby Board Junior World Cup in South Africa.
 
In particular Glen Jackson (NZ), Lourens vander Merwe (SA) and Angus Gardner (AUS) continued their international development by overseeing key matches during the Junior World Cup – with the latter the youngest whistleblower at the tournament at 27-years-old.

The next three rounds of competition are crucial not only for the franchises, but for the referees, with SANZAR Game Manager Lyndon Bray, together with his fellow selectors, looking to confirm the all-important officials who will oversee the 2012 Super Rugby Finals Series.

Super Rugby for the season recommences in Dunedin, with Garratt Williamson overseeing the opening New Zealand Conference match of the round between the Highlanders and top-of-the-table Chiefs.
 
The Rebels play their final match for 2012 at AAMI Park against the defending champion Reds the same evening, and the opening of the Australian Conference for round 16 will be overseen by Keith Brown.

On the Saturday the South African Conference leading Stormers are back in action, hosting the Lions, with that match controlled by Mark Lawrence.

The Blues, Sharks and Waratahs take their second byes of the season this week.

For your convenience round sixteen’s appointments are below:

Friday 29 June
Highlanders v Chiefs
Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Kick-off (19:35 local, 7:35 GMT, 19:35 NZT,17:35 NSW/ACT, 9:35 SAT)
R Garratt Williamson
AR Nick Briant
AR Kane McBride
TMO Vinny Munro

Friday 29 June
Rebels v Reds
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Kick-off (19:40 local, 9:40 GMT, 21:40 NZT,19:40 NSW/ACT, 11:40 SAT)
R Keith Brown
AR Andrew Lees
AR Angus Gardner
TMO Matt Goddard
 
Saturday 30 June
Crusaders v Hurricanes
AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Kick-off (19:35 local, 7:35 GMT, 19:35 NZT,17:35 NSW/ACT, 9:35 SAT)
R Bryce Lawrence
AR Nick Briant
AR Kane McBride
TMO Vinny Munro
 
Saturday 30 June
Force v Brumbies
NIB Stadium, Perth
Kick-off (17:40 local, 9:40 GMT, 21:40 NZT,19:40 NSW/ACT, 11:40 SAT)
R Ian Smith
AR James Leckie
AR Ed Martin
TMO George Ayoub
 
Saturday 30 June
Stormers v Lions
DHL Newlands Stadium, Cape Town
Kick-off (17:05 local, 15:05 GMT, Sun 1 Jul3:05 NZT, Sun 1 Jul 1:05 NSW/ACT, 17:05 SAT)
R Mark Lawrence
AR Lourens van der Merwe
AR Jason Jaftha
TMO Gerrie Coetzee

Saturday 30 June
Bulls v Cheetahs
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-off (19:10 local, 17:10 GMT, Sun 1 Jul5:10 NZT, Sun 1 Jul 3:10 NSW/ACT, 19:10 SAT)
R Marius Jonker
AR Sindile Mayende
AR Cobus Wessels
TMO Johan Meuweson